EMPOWERING PEOPLE THROUGH LEADERSHIP

We all fight accessibility issues regularly when decisions are made in our communities without input from the disability community. Rather than continuing this process, the Resources for Independence Central Valley in Fresno, CA has developed the Community Leadership Academy. The Academy is designed to teach people with disabilities to be effective members of boards of directors and government councils, and to help get them appointed to leadership positions.

Join us October 30, 2014, at 1o:00 pm Pacific, 11:00 Am Mountain, 12:00pm Central, and 1:00 pm Eastern , as Executive Director of Resources for Independence Central Valley in Fresno, CA, Robert Hand introduces the Community Leadership Academy.

Mr. Hand has been the for over eight years. He is the Chair of the California Foundation for Independent Living, the former Chair of the CA State Rehabilitation Council and the City of Fresno Disability Advisory Commission. Robert has over forty years in the disability field, over thirty-five as an executive director and ten as a CARF surveyor. He has a Master’s Degree in Rehabilitation Counseling from CSU Fresno.

Robert is a co-author and facilitator of “Leaders Without Limits”, and author of the board guide “Leading Community Benefit Corporations”. He has made “Leaders without Limits” presentations across California, in Kansas, South Carolina, South Korea, and at national conferences. He has taught leadership development for people with disabilities at Fresno State University, in nonprofits and conferences across the U.S., and in South Korea.

Overview of CLA Resources for Independence, Central Valley has developed the Community Leadership Academy (CLA) out of our consumers’ desires to increase leadership and civic engagement among people with disabilities. The CLA trains persons with disabilities to be board members of nonprofits, and members of government councils, commissions and boards.

What: Webinar Empowering People Through Leadership

When: September 25, 2014

10:00 am Pacific, 11:00 am Mountain, 12:00 pm Central, 1:00pm Eastern